The RV World: “I’m not sure this is a good idea, Selena…”

Usually, doubts about big decisions plague me. For example, buying my Prius four years ago was the longest, most drawn out process in the world…. for everyone around me. I talked to every family member and friend I could, going over every angle of every outcome possible to owning every other model of car when, in my heart of bleeding hearts, my environmental-studies-degree-bearing ass just knew that I wanted, no… needed the Prius.

Fast forward four years, and now I find myself contemplating a much bigger purchase of a housecar (or an RV, if you like) and I find the lack of doubt in the decision to purchase a gigantic car with a home glued to the top almost bizarre. The calm surrounding the decision that has taken me into the eye of the storm of used-RV shopping and loan applications is absolutely serene. I just know that this decision will, ultimately, simplify my life in so many ways.

Some of my peers, however, don’t share that view.

 Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 8.09.23 PMThanks B. Franklin. (Image Source)

“I don’t think you should buy an RV, Selena.”

“Have you really thought this through?”

“It’s a big decision…”

“Can you even afford it, really?”

“I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

*a silently raised eyebrow…*

All of this commentary is honestly coming from a good place. Everyone who has expressed their concerns truly does love me, have been friends with me for years, and always has had my best interest at heart.  And I realize that from their point of view, some of my choices (read: diet, choice of relationships, clothing color combos, etc.) in the past have been questionable. They’ve all seen me get majorly hurt, and don’t want to see me go through that again. I get that. And sure- we’re in the usual demographic that buys RV’s, by about 30 or 40 years. (You should see the looks we get in the dealerships.)  I get that too. But let’s look at another ‘questionable’ life decision that, though it has been difficult at times, I’ve not regretted for one day in my life.

 Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 6.24.47 PMThat face. (That story.)

Adopting a pit bull while living on the road is, from an outside perspective, insane. They’re energetic, strong, and require a huge amount of attention and training to produce a balanced pup. And Mikko, my puppy, has lived up to every imaginable inconvenience you could imagine. From house training, to puppy kindergarden, to hiring private trainers to continue his education on the road, life with Mikko hasn’t been deemed ‘easy’ by any means.

But what he brings to my life- unconditional love, a warm cuddle buddy, physical protection as I traveled the world a single, young lady, and the beautiful intangibles that no dog owner can put into words… they outweigh any ‘accident’ in the house, any anti-barking training sessions, any doubting looks I get from my friends for bringing this little monster on the road with me. I had no doubt in my mind as I picked up this little guy the day before he was going to be put to sleep by the shelter. I saved his life and, in turn, he’s saved mine.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 6.30.26 PMCheeseball dog owner quote/picture here

The same will go, it seems (and I hope) for the RV. Yes, it’s a financial risk. Yes, it’s unorthodox. Yes, it’s strange. But it’s also going to be a financial boon for me. My Good Sam’s 4.7% APR loan weighed against my average 7% return on my cash investments will save money over the long haul, insists my financial guy.

Also, it will be an emotional load off my shoulders. I just about lose my mind trying to find a reasonably priced short-term rental for my menagerie of furry children and not-as-furry boyfriend every month. And when I do, it’s usually upwards of $1500 per month! Compare that to my low interest payment on the RV, plus insurance and camp ground rental, and I’ll be saving at least $700 every month!

Finally, it will be a physical load off my shoulders in that I won’t have to pack my life up, lug it in and out of my car, and unpack every month. Everything will finally have it’s place, and I’ll only move it out again when we turn the RV over to my mom and dad to enjoy in their retirement. (Which is the plan as of right now. Dad and I have talked about him and/or I owning an RV since our Great Western Vacation in a rented Class C 15 years ago. So it only seems right that they inherit my house car when I’m done with it!)

As for my family- Mikko thoroughly enjoyed all the outside time he got on his 20 ft cable tied to the picnic table, Copeland loved watching all the birds flit around the campground from his window perch, and Phillip insists that he will resume his newest hobby of growing a massive beard and whittling his own chess set.

(Somehow the RV has brought out the mountain man we never knew was there in my man. And I’m not complaining about it.)

 
Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 6.37.23 PMMountain man and mountain lion. (Instalife)

So for the nay-sayers, I appreciate the concern. I really do. I even share some of the trepidation- the unknowns, the changes… it’s scary. But I truly feel like the RV lifestyle will make me happy, and I know that’s what all of my friends who doubt the plan really want for me in the end.

My heart is set, the research is done, and I can’t find a hint of serious doubt anywhere in my being.

Let’s do this.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 6.43.06 PM

Yes. Lets. (Image Source)

Photos:

Ben Franklin Quote: http://quoteseverlasting.com/quotations/2013/01/03/600/when-in-doubt-dont/

Let’s do this: http://startupbros.com/input-deprivation-week-forcing-action-by-killing-information-addictions/#/

All others: me!

Leave a Reply

